(Founded 1914) - Tel: 01527 540850
Green: Hollyoakes Lane, Tardebigge, Hewell, Nr Redditch. B97 5SR
Location of Bowls Club: Find Me
Website: Click here to access the Clubs Website
When a photograph of the Club becomes available it will be inserted here
Approved Coloured Shirt: None
Club smoking policy: Smoking in designated areas only.
Email Contact:


President: Ray Gibson Tel: 01527 404942
Captain: Jason Doherty Tel: 07815 543248


Ladies Captain: Jayne Sippitts Tel: 01527 523383




Mens Singles Champion: Paul Heathcote Tel: 01527 404495
Ladies Singles Champion: Jayne Sippitts Tel: 01527 523383
Secretary: Ian Taylor Tel: 07963 619435


Assistant Secretary: Andy Griffin
27 Meadowhill Road
B98 8HN
Tel: 01527 546604


Ladies Secretary:


Janet Pead



01527 404942

Fixture Secretary: Ray Gibson
86 Underwood Close
Callow Hill
B97 5YS
Tel: 01527 404942
Email: ray@pead.eclipse.co.uk
Exec.Council Members Ray Gibson


  Janet Pead


The Clubs History:      

Hewell Bowling Club was founded in 1914 by the Earl of Plymouth, who lived at Hewell Grange and owned a great deal of the surrounding land. He had the green laid by the workmen of his estate for the benefit of local residents for whom he had already provided the village hall.

His Lordship bowled the first bowl in a match against St Fagan’s, a club from the Earl’s other estates near Cardiff.   The score was St Fagans 72 Hewell 16.   We have improved since then.

Hewell has provided its share of noteworthies, starting with the Earl of Plymouth who was President of the County Association from its formation in 1930 until 1943. The Club has also provided the following County Presidents:- A.G. Frazier (1945) G.E. Mansell (1955), J.S. Gibbs (1973), Harry Clarke (1994) and John Tolley (1998 and 2012).

The Club is especially proud that in this 75th Anniversary year of the County two members will hold the highest offices both in the County and National level, John Tolley as President of the English Bowling Association and Graham Hill as President of the County.

Further Harry Clarke served as President of the Three Counties Bowling Association in 1995 and John Tolley served as President of the Midland Counties Bowls Association in 2001 and was elected Three Counties BA President for the 2013 season.

Club members have won numerous honours over the years none more so than Bill Irish who won the County Singles and Pairs in 1965 and went on to become an England International in later years.


Updated 14th December 2019