(Founded 1963) - Tel: 01684 772008
Green: Rear of Village Hall, Main Road, Bredon, Nr Tewkesbury. GL20 7QN
Location of Bowls Club: Find Me
Approved Coloured Shirt: White Polo with Maroon Trim to Collar & Sleeves
Club smoking policy: No smoking in the Clubhouse
Email Contact:

[email protected]

President: Margaret Compton Tel: 01684 275188  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Club Captain: Chris Doody Tel: 01242 690916  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Club Vice Captain: Jack Pullin Mob: 07584 221758  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Men's Captain: Jack Pullin Mob: 07584 221758  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Men's Vice Captain: Richard Woodward Tel: 01684 772932  
Email Contact: [email protected] Mob: 07966 112356  
Ladies Captain: Chris Doody Tel: 01242 690916  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Ladies Vice Captain: Jan Hilton Tel: 01242 870587  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Mens Singles Champion: Darren Rosser Tel: 01684 772808  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Ladies Singles Champion: Kate Young Tel: 01684 772821  
Email Contact: [email protected]      
Club Secretary:

Ian Day

47 Beckford Road Alderton
Glos. GL20 8NL
Tel: 07587 168789  

[email protected]

Ladies Secretary: Anne Watson Tel: 01242 676396  
Fixture Secretary:
Rita Davies
Aber Pennar Cottage
Black Lane Bredon
Glos. GL20 8NL
Tel: 01684 773410  

[email protected]

Exec.Council Members Chris Doody [email protected] 
  Jack Pullin [email protected]
The Clubs History:        

The Club was founded in 1963 on a piece of derelict land adjacent to the Village Hall by a group under the leadership of the late Stan Priest and including the late Jack Knight, and Wallace Partridge (County Life Member).

The green was laid, and a wooden Clubhouse erected, bowling beginning in 1964 with 25 members. Originally “men only”, a ladies section (eight members) was formed in 1965.

Since the mid 90’s the Club has operated on an all-inclusive basis.   The Clubhouse was enlarged in 1978, membership having increased to 120.   In 1999 the old Clubhouse was demolished, an enlarged replacement opening in May 2000 having spent £140,000-00, from accumulated savings, member contributions and a loan of £15,000-00 from the English Bowling Association.

The Club has had six County Presidents and two Lady County Presidents as members, and has provided officials for County Administration, notably the late Steve Pullin (County Competition Secretary) and the late Doris Priest (Worcestershire County Women’s Bowling Association Secretary).

Over the years the Club has provided many participants in County and National Finals.

As in most Clubs, membership has fallen in recent years, but appears to have reached stability at this time.   Open all year, the winter season provides opportunity for members to take part in social activities such as Carpet Bowls, Bingo, Race Nights etc.


Updated March 1st 2021